April

april-2
Place: Subic, Philippines  
Age: 19  
Business: Tailor Shop  
Loan: 98€

 

So far, April is the youngest participant in our program. Furthermore, she is also the first one to take up study at university as it is her dream to become a teacher.

With the microloan she bought a sewing machine as well as cloth and opened a small shop, which she can run alongside her studies. Choosing the right sewing machine was particularly important for her. A high quality, industrial machine is very efficient, however, the humid climate in the Philippines increases the risk of defect. Spare parts and repairs would be impossible for April to finance. For this reason, she chose a simple, less delicate manual sewing machine.

April lives with her parents and is dependent on profits in order to support her family financially. She is the oldest child and therefore responsible for her parents. Her father is a trained welder, however, he does not have a permanent employment and merely receives occasional contracts. Her mother takes care of the household.

Frequently, young adults quit their studies in the Philippines because their families do not have enough money to pay for university or they are needed as a worker to earn money. For this reason, we are even more happy that we can help April with making her dream come true.

Gallery April

Gallery April
Picture 1 of 6

This is April's home

April

april-2
Ort: Subic, Philippinen  
Alter: 19  
Geschäft: Schneiderei  
Kredit: 98€

 

April ist die bisher jüngste Teilnehmerin an unserem Mikrokreditprogramm. Und sie ist die Erste, die studiert. Ihr Traum ist es, Lehrerin zu werden.

Mit dem Mikrokredit kaufte sie eine Nähmaschine und Material und eröffnete ein kleines Geschäft, das sie neben dem Studium betreiben kann. Die richtige Maschine auszuwählen war dabei besonders wichtig. Eine hochwertige industrielle Maschine ist sehr effizient, aber das feuchte Klima erhöht des Risiko für Defekte. Ersatzteile oder Reparaturen wären für April unmöglich zu finanzieren, Deswegen entscheidet sie sich für ein einfaches manuelles Model, welches weniger anfällig ist.

April lebt mit ihren Eltern zusammen und braucht die Gewinne um ihre Familie finanziell zu unterstützen. Sie ist das älteste Kind und somit für die Eltern verantwortlich. Ihr Vater ist zwar gelernter Schweißer, hat aber keine feste Arbeitsstelle und bekommt nur gelegentlich Aufträge. Ihre Mutter kümmert sich um den Haushalt.

Oft brechen junge Menschen auf den Philippinen ein Studium ab, weil die Familie kein Geld für das nächste Semester hat, oder weil die Arbeitskraft der Kinder benötigt wird, um für das Nötigste zu sorgen. Daher freuen wir uns umso mehr, dass wir April bei der Umsetzung ihres Traums helfen können.

Über dieses Projekt berichtete das Main Echo am 04.12.2016

Global Micro Initiative e.V.: Durch Mikrokredite Bildung fördern

mehr auf www.main-echo.de

Bildergalerie April

Bildergalerie April
Bild 1 von 6

Hier wohnt April mit ihrer Familie