Nong

cof
Place: Pattya, Thailand  
Age: 39  
Costs: 490 €

 

Nong is originally from the small province Korat in northeastern Thailand. As her family is very poor, she decided to move to Pattaya to earn more money. Nong’s 13-year old son stayed with the family, which now takes care of him. Every month, the mother sends money home to support her family financially. 

Nong worked as a prostitute for four years before finally joining the Tamar Center three years ago. It was there that she learned the basic skills of sewing. The 39-year old liked the work well and was quick in demonstrating her talent. It was only a short while later that her small bags were put onto the Tamar online shop. Unfortunately, the Tamar Center’s sewing instructor moved away which is why the center is only able to teach what the women know themselves.

For this reason, Nong was sent to a sewing school to further improve her skill set. 

Nong dreams of sewing shirts, trousers and dresses and to use her sewing skills to earn more money for her family. Thanks to the training, she will be able to fulfil her dream soon. The Tamar Center will extend Nong’s skill set so that the mother will be able to sew dresses for children. This will increase Nong’s earnings. In the long term, Nong will share her knowledge with others.

“Everything’s changed for me”, she says. “Other women should have the chance as well to learn new things in order to earn money. They shouldn’t have to feel ashamed for it.”

Nong

cof
Ort: Pattya, Thailand  
Alter: 39  
Kosten: 490 €

 

Nong stammt ursprünglich aus der kleinen Provinz Korat im Nordosten Thailands. Da ihre Familie sehr arm ist, entschloss sie sich nach Pattaya zu ziehen, um dort Geld zu verdienen. Ihr 13 Jahre alter Sohn blieb bei der Familie, die sich nun um ihn kümmert. Jeden Monat schickt Nong Geld nach Hause, um die Familie finanziell zu unterstützen.

Nong arbeitete vier Jahre als Prostituierte in diversen Bars, bis sie schließlich vor drei Jahren ins Tamar Center kam. Dort erlernte Nong auch Grundkenntnisse im Nähen. Die Arbeit gefiel der 39-jährigen sehr und sie zeigte schnell ihr Talent darin. Nach geraumer Zeit wurden kleine Täschchen in die Produktpalette des Tamar Online Shops aufgenommen. Auch diese zu nähen erlernte Nong schnell. Allerdings zog die Schneiderlehrerin weg, weshalb das Tamar Center nur noch dazu fähig ist, zu lehren, was sie selbst können. Daher wurde nun der Entschluss gefasst, Nong in eine weiterführende Nähschule zu schicken.

Nong träumt davon, selbst Shirts, Hosen und Kleider nähen und mit den erlernten Fähigkeiten mehr Geld für ihre Familie verdienen zu können. Hierzu wird Nong nach Abschluss ihrer Ausbildung auch in der Lage sein. Das Tamar Center wird ihr Aufgabenfeld um das Nähen von Kinderkleidchen erweitern, wodurch auch ihr Gehalt steigt. Langfristig möchte Nong ihr Wissen auch an andere weitergeben. „Für mich hat sich alles geändert,“ erklärt sie. „Andere sollen auch so eine Chance haben und etwas lernen, mit dem sie Geld verdienen können, ohne sich schämen zu müssen.“