Rasmini

Rasmini_1
Place: Denpasar, Indonesia  
Age: 67  
Business: Road Stall  
Loan: 5 x 35€

 

Update February 2018

Rasmini receives another microcredit.

Update Dezember 2017

Rasmini was able to repay all her micro loans in time. Now she receives a fourth loan. Even this time the senior citizen does not want to take a bigger risk and requests only 35€, which we gladly provide to her. 

Update October 2017

Rasmini receives a third micro loan. Compared to July, her income is now 17% higher.

Update July 2017

Rasmini gets a second microcredit in order to buy more fuel.

Update June 2017

Rasmini fully repaid her microcredit before the deadline. 

About Rasmini

Most mountains in Bali are of volcanic origin occuping approximately three quarters of the island in total. In 1963, the last eruption of the volcano ‘Gunung-Agung’ took nearly 2000 lives and ravaged villages and fields. In consequence, large numbers of Balinese were forced to flee, among them Rasmini and her husband Wayan. More than 40 years ago, they fled from the East of Bali to Denpasar, the island’s official capital.

After arriving, they decided to lease a building space of 100 square meters for a period of 10 years, for 200,000,000 IDR a year (approximately 400€ in 1960). For a fresh start, Wayan started working as a construction worker and began building a house for his family – every day after work. After 20 years, the landlord decided to sell the plot and once again, Rasmini and her husband as well as their five sons and two daughters had to move. Close to their old home, they decided to build a new house. In order to improve the family income, Rasmini opened her own store in the area, where she sold coffee and baked bananas to resident workers.

10 years ago, Wayan suddenly passed away. Until today, Rasmini does not the cause of his death as the family lacked the funds to finance a medical examination. Since her business with coffee and baked bananas does not grow anymore, her income stagnates. At the moment, each week form Monday to Saturday between 7am and 6pm, the ambitious and determined grandmother sells tea, rice to takeaway and ‘canang’, small presents brought to the gods for sacrifice in Hinduism. To save her products from intensive sunshine, particularly during the noon heat, Rasmini has placed her kerbside stand under a tree and uses as a sunshade for additional protection. With that she can earn around 3€ per day.

She uses the micro credit of around 35€ to increase her petrol stock. In Indonesia, petrol is frequently for sale in litre bottles at the roadside. With this, she can nearly double her daily income.

Gallery Rasmini

Gallery Rasmini
Picture 1 of 9

Rasmini's business

Rasmini

Rasmini_1
Ort: Denpasar, Indonesien  
Alter: 67  
Geschäft: Straßenstand  
Kredit: 4 x 35 €

 

Update Dezember 2017

Rasmini konnte all ihre Mikrokredite pünktlich zurückzahlen. Nun erhält sie einen vierten Mikrokredit. Auch diesmal möchte die Seniorin lieber kein großes Risiko eingehen und beantragt lediglich 35 €, welche wir ihr gern auszahlen.

Update Oktober 2017

Rasmini erhält nun einen dritten Mikrokredit. Ihr Einkommen ist 17 % höher als im Juni.

Update Juli 2017

Rasmini erhält einen zweiten Mikrokredit, um einen weiteren Vorrat an Benzin zu finanzieren.

Update Juni 2017

Rasmini zahlte den Mikrokredit vorzeitig zurück.

Über Rasmini

Die meisten Berge Balis sind vulkanischen Ursprungs und bedecken etwa drei Viertel der gesamten Inselfläche. Der letzte Ausbruch des Vulkans „Gunung Agung“ von 1963 forderte ca. 2000 Menschenleben und verwüstete Dörfer und Felder. Dies hatte zur Folge, dass zahlreiche Menschen von dort fliehen mussten. So auch die heute 67-jährige Rasmini und ihr Mann Wayan. Sie flüchteten damals, vor mehr als 40 Jahren, von Ostbali nach Denpasar, der offiziellen Hauptstadt Balis.

Dort pachtete Rasmini für jährlich 2,000,000 IDR (damals ca. 400 €) und mit einer Laufzeit von 10 Jahren eine 100 qm große Baufläche. Als Neuanfang begann Wayan als Bauarbeiter zu arbeiten und baute so schrittweise nach seiner Arbeit ein Haus für die Familie. Nach 20 Jahren beschloss der Verpachter das Grundstück zu verkaufen und Rasmini und ihr Mann sowie ihre fünf Söhne und zwei Töchter mussten erneut umziehen. Unweit von ihrer alten Heimat bauten sie sich schließlich ein neues Haus. Um das Familieneinkommen zu verbessern, eröffnete Rasmini in der neuen Gegend ein kleines Geschäft, in dem sie Kaffee und gebackene Bananen an dort ansässige Arbeiter verkaufte. 

Vor zehn Jahren verstarb Wayan ganz plötzlich. Bis heute kennt Rasimi die Todesursache nicht, denn für eine Untersuchung fehlte das Geld.

Da ihr Geschäft mit Kaffee und gebackenen Bananen allein nicht mehr wächst und somit auch die Einnahmen gleich bleiben oder sinken, erweiterte sie ihren Stand. Nun sitzt die zielstrebige und ehrgeizige Großmutter montags bis samstags von 7 Uhr bis 18 Uhr an ihrem Straßenstand und verkauft zusätzlich Tee, Reis zum Mitnehmen und „canang“, Geschenke, welche im Hinduismus den Göttern als Opfergabe gebracht werden. Um sich und ihre Produkte vor allem mittags vor der intensiven Sonne zu schützen hat Rasmini den Stand unter einem Baum und einem Strandschirm aufgebaut. So kann sie täglich ca. 3 € Gewinn erwirtschaften.

Den Mikrokredit von ca. 35 € nutzt sie, um einen größeren Vorrat an Benzin zu kaufen. In Indonesien wird Benzin oft in Literflaschen am Straßenrand verkauft. Damit kann Rasmini ihr tägliches Einkommen nahezu verdoppeln.

Bildergalerie Rasmini

Bildergalerie Rasmini
Bild 1 von 9

Rasmini's Straßenstand