Update from Lombok

Suela_15

The strenghening of women’s rights and the economic development of village communities – those are the goals of the non-profit organisation Gema Alam on the Indonesian island Lombok, with which we’ve been working together for nearly a year now. In Suela, a village close to a much used road by Indonesian tourists to a popular national park, we currently facilitate the building of a tourist information centre, which includes a coffee shop with its own coffee roasting machine. Gema Alam supports the people there and develops with them marketing strategies.

Five interested entrepreneurs have formed the village cooperative ‘FORMULA’ and received their first grouploan. After the credit had been paid back, the investment’s impact was clearly visible. What used to be a simple hut a couple of months ago is now a typical Indonesian tourist information centre. ‘Apart from the coffee, ginger extract and other goods that we grow, we sell clothes, blankets and sleeping bags’, tells us Arifin, the 31-year old director of ‘FORMULA’. ‘In addition, we offer overnight stays and tours to tourists.’

The weaver community in the neighbouring village of Pringgasela has repaid their first round of micro credit successfully, too. ‘Before the credit, every weaver has sold her products individually’, explains Zicko, the director of Gema Alam. ‘Now we’ve opened a shop, which delivers to those selling the handmade Sarongs and scarfs in the tourist areas. For the women, this means an entirely new way of selling their products and many profit from higher revenues.’

It is solely through your donations that we can extent the cooperation to four more villages. Support us here.

Gallery

Gallery
Picture 1 of 9

Update aus Lombok

Suela_15

Stärkung von Frauenrechten und die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung von Dorfgemeinschaften – das sind die Ziele der gemeinnützigen Organisation Gema Alam auf Indonesiens Insel Lombok, mit der wir seit fast einem Jahr zusammenarbeiten. In Suela, einem Dorf an einer von indonesischen Touristen viel genutzten Straße zu einem beliebten Nationalpark, fördern wir den Aufbau eines Touristen-Informations-Centers einschließlich Kaffeehaus mit eigener Kaffeeröstmaschine. Gema Alam steht den Menschen beratend zur Seite und entwickelt mit ihnen Marketingstrategien.

Fünf interessierte Kleinunternehmer schlossen sich zur Dorfkooperative „FORMULA“ zusammen und erhielten einen ersten Gruppen-Mikrokredit. Nach der Rückzahlung sind Erfolge deutlich sichtbar. Was früher eine einfache Hütte war ist inzwischen zu einem typischen indonesischen Touristen-Info-Center geworden. „Neben selbst angebautem Kaffee, Ingwer-Extrakt, und anderen Lebensmitteln verkaufen wir Kleidung, Decken und Schlafsäcke“, so Arifin, der 31-jährige Vorsitzende von „FORMULA“. „Zusätzlich vermitteln wir Übernachtungen und bieten Touren für Touristen an.“

Auch die Webergemeinschaft im benachbarten Pringgasela hat ihre erste Runde Mikrokredite vollständig zurückgezahlt. „Früher hat jede Weberin einzeln ihre Produkte verkauft,“ erklärt Zicko, Leiterin von Gema Alam. „Jetzt gibt es ein Geschäft, aus dem heraus die Verkäufer beliefert werden, die die handgefertigten Sarongs und Schals zu den Touristengegenden bringen. Für die Frauen bedeutet das eine ganz neue Ausgangslage und viele profitieren schon von den erhöhten Verkaufszahlen.“

Nur durch Ihre Spenden können wir diese Zusammenarbeit auf vier weitere Dörfer ausbauen. Unterstützen können Sie uns hier.

Bildergalerie

Bildergalerie
Bild 1 von 9